Benedict Cumberbatch and Parade’s End win at Broadcasting Press Guild Awards

The BBC2 period drama series scooped four gongs at a ceremony held today in London

Benedict Cumberbatch will be adding another trophy to his groaning mantelpiece later today after being named best actor at this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.


The 36-year-old Sherlock star was honoured for his performance in the BBC2 period drama Parade’s End, which won four awards in total.

The series, based on Ford Maddox Ford’s series of five novels, is set before, during and after the First World War and stars Cumberbatch as the aristocratic lead character Christopher Tietjens.

Cumberbatch’s co-star Rebecca Hall won best actress, Sir Tom Stoppard (pictured with Cumberbatch, above) bagged the writer’s award for his adaptation of the novels, and Parade’s End was named best drama series.

The awards, presented at 1 Whitehall Place in London, were voted on by journalists who write about TV and radio.

ITV scooped best documentary for its Exposure investigation into Jimmy Savile, which led to a national inquiry into child abuse.

Today presenter John Humphrys, whose interview with former BBC Director General George Entwistle was broadcast on the day of the latter’s resignation, won the Harvey Lee Award for his outstanding contribution to broadcasting.

Twenty Twelve, BBC2’s Olympic-based sitcom which starred Hugh Bonneville and featured narration from David Tennant, was honoured with the best entertainment/comedy award for its “uncanny ability to predict real-life events”.

Great British Bake-Off judge Mary Berry collected the factual entertainment award, BBC2’s one-off Shakespearian drama The Hollow Crown: Richard II bagged the best single drama honour and Inside Claridge’s was named best documentary.

Bradford-born illusionist Dynamo picked up the multichannel award for his series Dynamo: Magician Impossible, which was first screened on UKTV’s channel Watch in 2011.

Recently-retired Radio 4 newsreader Charlotte Green was named radio broadcaster of the year, and the station’s Soul Music series won best radio programme.

The BBC’s Olympic coverage was honoured with the innovation award and Adam Hills, who presented Channel 4’s Paralympic coverage, bagged the breakthrough award.

Here are this year’s BPG Award winners in full:


Best Single Drama: The Hollow Crown: Richard II
Best Drama Series: Parade’s End
Best Single Documentary: Exposure: The Other Side of Jimmy Savile
Best Documentary Series: Inside Claridge’s
Best Entertainment/Comedy: Twenty Twelve
Best Factual Entertainment: The Great British Bake Off
Best Multichannel Programme: Dynamo: Magician Impossible
Best Actor: Benedict Cumberbatch
Best Actress: Rebecca Hall
Breakthrough Award: Adam Hills
Writer’s Award: Sir Tom Stoppard
Radio Broadcaster of the Year: Charlotte Green
Radio Programme of the Year: Soul Music
Innovation Award: BBC Olympics 2012
Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting: John Humphrys