Bradley Wiggins receives knighthood as London 2012 heroes dominate New Year Honours list

Fellow sportspeople including Ben Ainslie, Sarah Storey and Jessica Ennis are also recognised, as are Tracey Emin, Kate Bush and Ewan McGregor


Cyclist Bradley Wiggins and a host of Olympic and Paralympic medalists have been recognised on a special list of 78 sports stars drawn up for the annual New Year Honours.


The award marks the end of a hugely successful year for Wiggins. In July, the 32-year-old became the first British winner in the history of the Tour de France, before bagging gold at the Olympic Games and being named BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012.

Wiggins and four-times Olympic gold medal-winning sailor Ben Ainslie will both receive knighthoods for services to their sports, while Paralympic cyclist and former swimmer Sarah Storey will become a dame after taking her 11th gold medal at London 2012.

Fellow gold medalists Katherine Grainger, Mo Farah, Victoria Pendleton, David Weir and Jessica Ennis also become CBEs while Andy Murray, Ellie Simmonds and Laura Trott are awarded OBEs. Nicola Adams, Helen Glover, Greg Rutherford and Louis Smith – silver medal-winning gymnast and this year’s Strictly Come Dancing champion – will become MBEs.

In the world of entertainment, another Strictly alumnus, former judge Arlene Phillips, will become a CBE, along with artist Tracey Emin and singer Kate Bush, while illustrator Quentin Blake is to be knighted. Actor Ewan McGregor is awarded an OBE, for his drama and charity work, as is ‘Allo ‘Allo writer Jeremy Lloyd, for his services to British comedy.


See the full list of honours here