Skyfall outguns Avatar to become highest grossing UK box office film of all time

James Bond celebrates his 50th anniversary in style by keeping the British end up


Just a fortnight after sinking Titanic, Skyfall has taken out another James Cameron blockbuster, Avatar, to become the highest-grossing film in UK box office history.


The 23rd James Bond adventure – Daniel Craig’s third appearance in the role – has taken £93,769,331 since its release in Britain on 26 October, around £300,000 more than Cameron’s groundbreaking animated film. And with Skyfall still running in cinemas, it may well eventually pass the £100 million mark.

Also lying in 007’s wake are Toy Story 3, now the fourth-highest grossing British box office movie, followed by Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2. The next most successful Bond film is Craig’s first outing, Casino Royale, lying in 13th place with total takings of just over £55m.

Skyfall’s position at the top of the UK box office is a particularly fitting way to mark the 50th anniversary of the British spy, whose first big-screen appearance came in 1963’s Dr No.

The top 20 highest-grossing films in UK box office history

(figures provided by the BFI and 25th Frame)

1 Skyfall (2012) MGM/Columbia Pictures £93,769,331

2 Avatar (2009) 20th Century Fox £93,442,625

3 Titanic (1998) Paramount Pictures/20th Century Fox £79,990,624

4 Toy Story 3 (2010) Walt Disney Pictures/Pixar Animation Studios £73,405,113

5 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 (2011) Warner Bros Pictures £73,094,187

6 Mamma Mia! (2008) Universal Pictures £69,166,087

7 Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2001) Warner Bros Pictures £63,957,673

8 The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001) New Line Cinema £63,009,288

9 The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) New Line Cinema £60,880,923

10 The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002) New Line Cinema £57,600,094

11 Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace (1999) 20th Century Fox £56,351,660

12 The Dark Knight Rises (2012) Warner Bros Pictures £55,769,510

13 Casino Royale (2006) MGM/Columbia Pictures £55,287,027

14 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002) Warner Bros Pictures £54,780,731

15 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 (2010) Warner Bros Pictures £52,478,788

16 The Full Monty (1997) Fox Searchlight Pictures £52,232,058

17 Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (2006) Walt Disney Pictures £51,735,498

18 Marvel Avengers Assemble (2012) Walt Disney Pictures £51,614,076

19 Quantum of Solace (2008) MGM/Columbia Pictures £51,070,677


20 Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (2009) Warner Bros Pictures £50,713,404