Sherlock and Downton Abbey receive 29 Emmy nominations

Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Hugh Bonneville and Michelle Dockery are among those up for gongs at the 64th Emmy Awards


This year’s Emmys could be a very big deal indeed for US network PBS’s two big British imports Sherlock and Downton Abbey, as the shows have received a total of 29 nominations from the prestigious annual American television awards this year.


Sherlock will contest 13 separate categories, with stars Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman up for Outstanding Lead and Supporting Actor in a Miniseries, respectively.

Along with a nomination in the Outstanding Miniseries or Movie category, Sherlock is also recognised for its costuming, writing, directing, casting, cinematography, editing, music, sound mixing, sound editing, art direction and cinematography.

Downton is up for 14 different awards, not least the Outstanding Drama Series gong, while the show’s leads Hugh Bonneville and Michellle Dockery will compete for the Outstanding Lead Actor and Actress in a Drama Series gongs.

Maggie Smith and Joanne Froggatt are also up for awards for their work on the show, vying for the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series gong, while Brendan Coyle and Jim Carter find themselves in similar competition for best supporting actor.

The popular ITV period drama has also received nominations for everything from best writing and direction to Outstanding Hairstyling.

BBC series Luther is another British programme that’s earned a fair bit of stateside recognition and is also up for best writing, direction and miniseries, with star Idris Elba facing off against Cumberbatch in the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries category.

And Armando Iannucci’s Veep will go up against Curb Your Enthusiasm, Girls, The Big Bang Theory, Modern Family and 30 Rock for Oustanding Comedy Series, while its lead player Julia Louis-Dreyfus is up for best lead actress in a comedy series.


A full list of this year’s nominations is available at the Emmys website. The ceremony itself will be held on Sunday 23 September at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles.