Sherlock’s Steven Moffat named best writer at Bafta Television Craft Awards

The drama joins BBC1's Frozen Planet and Great Expectations in winning three awards at the celebration of behind-the-camera skills

Sherlock co-creator Steven Moffat has been named best writer at the 2012 Bafta Television Craft Awards for his work on A Scandal in Belgravia, the opening episode of series two of the BBC1 drama, which aired on New Year’s Day.


The story sees Benedict Cumberbatch’s detective lock horns (and mobile phones) with domintarix Irene Adler, played by Lara Pulver. It bagged a total of three gongs for Sherlock, including the Editing: Fiction and Sound: Fiction awards.

Frozen Planet and Great Expectations, both BBC1 productions, also won in three categories at the awards, which celebrate behind-the-camera skills in television production.

David Attenborough’s seven-part examination of life and the environment in the Arctic and Antarctic took the awards for Editing: Factual, Photography: Factual and Sound: Factual, while the Dickens adaptation was recognised in the Photography & Lighting: Fiction, Production Design and Visual Effects categories.

Three directors celebrated their first Bafta triumphs at last night’s ceremony, David Clews winning in the Director: Factual category for Channel 4’s Educating Essex, Hugo Blick taking Director: Fiction for BBC2’s The Shadow Line and Phil Heyes named Director: Multicamera for ITV1’s The X Factor Final.

The Break-Through Talent Award was won by Appropriate Adult co-producer Kwadjo Dajan, while the Special Award was presented by actor Adrian Dunbar to industry-renowned colourist, Aidan Farrell. Musician Brian Eno collected his first Bafta for Original Music on Top Boy, Channel 4’s drama about inner-city drug and gang culture.

The awards were announced in a ceremony hosted by comedian Alan Davies last night in London.


Watch a trailer for Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia and see a full list of the nominees and winners below:

Breakthrough Talent
Tom Basden – Writer, Fresh Meat
Kwadjo Dajan – Co-producer, Appropriate Adult – WINNER
Stefan Golaszewski – Writer, Him & Her
Clare Johns – Producer/director: Panorama: The Truth About Adoption

Costume Design
Charlotte Walter – Birdsong – WINNER
Amy Roberts – Call the Midwife
Susannah Buxton – Downton Abbey
James Keast – The Mystery Of Edwin Drood

Digital Creativity
Margaret Robertson, Alex Fleetwood, A.L. Kennedy, Lottie Davies – Dreams Of Your Life
Steph Harris, Dan Jones, Sandra Gorel, Adam Gee – Live From The Clinic – WINNER
Matt Jarvis, Chloe Moss, Richard Wilson, Daniel Twomey – Misfits
ITV Online/ITV Studios – This Morning

Director, Factual
David Clews – Educating Essex – WINNER
Vanessa Berlowitz, Chadden Hunter, Kathryn Jeffs – Frozen Planet (To The Ends Of The Earth)
Sacha Mirzoeff – Protecting Our Children
Charlie Russell – Terry Pratchett’s Choosing To Die

Director, Fiction
Julian Jarrold – Appropriate Adult
John Alexander – Exile
Hugo Blick – The Shadow Line – WINNER
Yann Demange – Top Boy

Director, Multi-Camera
Richard Valentine – Dancing On Ice
Ben Kellett – Mrs Brown’s Boys
Claire Popplewell – The Royal Wedding (BBC1)
Phil Heyes – The X Factor Final – WINNER

Editing, Factual
Ian Davies – Agony & Ecstasy: A Year With English National Ballet
Andy Netley, Dave Pearce, Nigel Buck – Frozen Planet (To The Ends Of The Earth) – WINNER
Sean Mackenzie – Japan’s Tsunami Caught on Camera
Brendan Reilly – Terry Pratchett’s Choosing To Die

Editing, Fiction 
Kristina Hetherington – Birdsong
Luke Dunkley – The Crimson Petal and the White
Victoria Boydell – Great Expectations
Charlie Phillips – Sherlock (A Scandal In Belgravia) – WINNER

Entertainment Craft Team 
Paul Bussey, Nick Collier, Luke Halls, Annabel Raftery – The Cube – WINNER
Simon Ainge, Zebedee Helm, Rachel Jury – Derren Brown: The Experiments (The Secret Of Luck)
Konrad Begg, Phil Churchward, Ben Joiner, Iain May – Top Gear
Robert Edwards, Dave Davey, Matt Jeffreys, Julien Rigel – The X Factor

Make Up and Hair Design
Emma Scott – Birdsong
Jacqueline Fowler – The Crimson Petal and the White – WINNER
Kirstin Chalmers – Great Expectations
Catherine Scoble – This Is England ’88

Original Music
John Lunn – Downton Abbey
George Fenton – Frozen Planet
Martin Phipps – Great Expectations
Brian Eno – Top Boy – WINNER

Photography, Factual
Sean Bobbitt – Crack House
Michael W Richards, Richard Cook, Christian Moullec – Earthflight (Europe)
Camera Team – Frozen Planet (To The Ends Of The Earth) – WINNER
Leo Maguire – Gypsy Blood (True Stories)

Photography and Lighting, Fiction
Lol Crawley – The Crimson Petal and the White
Florian Hoffmeister – Great Expectations – WINNER
Chris Seager – The Hour
Tat Radcliffe – Top Boy

Production Design
Pat Campbell – Appropriate Adult
Donal Woods, Judy Farr – Downton Abbey
Joel Collins, Daniel May – Black Mirror (15 Million Merits)
David Roger – Great Expectations – WINNER

Sound, Factual
Daniel Jones, Sam Mathewson – The Choir: Military Wives
Tim Owens, Graham Wild, Kate Hopkins – Frozen Planet (To The Ends Of The Earth) – WINNER
Tom O’Pray, Paul Paragon – Rostropovich: The Genius of the Cello
Sound Team – The Royal Wedding (Service in Westminster Abbey) (BBC1)

Sound, Fiction
Sound Team – Birdsong
Richard Dyer, Paul Hamblin, Stefan Henrix, Matt Skelding – Great Expectations
Sound Team – The Hour
John Mooney, Jeremy Child, Howard Bargroff, Doug Sinclair – Sherlock (A Scandal In Belgravia) -WINNER

Visual Effects
The Mill – Doctor Who
BlueBolt – Great Expectations – WINNER
Philip Dobree, Sophie Orde, Dan Upton – Inside the Human Body
Burrell Durrant Hifle – Wonders of the Universe

Neil McKay – Appropriate Adult
Abi Morgan – Birdsong
Jack Thorne – The Fades
Steven Moffat – Sherlock (A Scandal In Belgravia) – WINNER

Special Award
Aidan Farrell