BBC announces Olympic coverage presenters

Daily line-ups for BBC1 and BBC3 released


The BBC has announced its line-up of presenters for the corporation’s coverage of the London 2012 Olympic Games.


Huw Edwards will lead the Opening and Closing ceremonies of the Games, but viewers can expect to wake up daily to Bill Turnbull, Hazel Irvine, Sian Williams and Chris Hollins between 6:00 and 9:00am on BBC1.

They will be followed by Mishal Husain, who will broadcast from 9:00 to 11:30am, with contributions from on-site reporters, including Clare Balding, Jonathan Edwards and John Inverdale.

Seeing viewers through into the afternoon, from 11:30am to 4:00pm, will be Matt Baker, Clare Balding, Jake Humphrey and Hazel Irvine, with Sue Barker taking the reins until 7:00pm, when she will hand over to Gary Lineker.

Gabby Logan will round up every day’s action from 10:35pm to midnight.

Over on BBC3, Manish Bhasin, Rishi Persad and Sonali Shah will cover the games from 9:00am to 7:00pm, when Jake Humphrey will take over until 11:00pm.


The BBC will also deliver 24 simultaneous live streams on the BBC Sport website, and viewers can begin planning their Olympic viewing with the site’s session by session online guide at