James Wan (2018)

12A Certificate


Our Score
Following a memorable appearance in Justice League, Jason Momoa gets his own solo adventure as the rumbustious Atlantean prince who must learn what it means to be a king in order to stop his evil half-brother (Patrick Wilson) from destroying the surface world. Submerged in computer effects and action sequences, this self-contained yarn abandons the modern trend for darker superhero stories and concentrates on entertainment. Borrowing techniques from action movies of old, director James Wan (Saw, Fast & Furious 7/ital}) handles the ambitious spectacle well, creating set pieces that are busy but never feel crowded. Tearing his way across the world, the charismatic Momoa is the perfect lead for this slightly tongue-in-cheek movie, delivering silly dialogue with a wink to the camera. Amber Heard is equally as compelling as his ally/love interest Princess Mera, and while Wilson is a little on the stiff side, he does the job as villain Orm. While it verges on the ridiculous at times, Aquaman puts the emphasis on fun and proves a more enjoyable journey than most films set in the DC Universe.


The underwater kingdom of Atlantis is ruled by the power-hungry King Orm. With a huge army at his command, he plans to conquer the oceanic people before taking on the rest of the world. Athur Curry, the human-born heir to Atlantis, embarks on a quest to stop him. Superhero adventure, starring Jason Momoa, Nicole Kidman and Willem Dafoe.

Cast & Crew

Arthur Curry / Aquaman Jason Momoa
Queen Atlanna Nicole Kidman
Mera Amber Heard
Nuidis Vulko Willem Dafoe
King Orm Patrick Wilson
David Kane / Manta Yahya Abdul-Mateen II
Tom Curry Temuera Morrison
King Nereus Dolph Lundgren
Jesse Kane Michael Beach
King Ricou Djimon Hounsou
King Atlan Graham McTavish
Cargo pilot Leigh Whannell
Dr Stephen Shin Randall Park
Karathen Julie Andrews
Brine King John Rhys-Davies
Director James Wan
see more

Other Information

Language: EnglishColourTheatrical distributor: Warner BrosAvailable on: DVD and Blu-rayReleased on: 12 Dec 2018