Video clips are automatically supplied by broadcasters and distributors. is not responsible for the clip's contents.
The Impossible Astronaut

Series 6 - Episode 1 The Impossible Astronaut



“Space, 1969!” purrs a gleeful Time Lord, reunited with pals Amy, Rory and River in the middle of the Wild West. Neil Armstrong is about to set foot on the Moon, so why is President Nixon preoccupied with eerie late-night phone calls? Who is the child in danger? And which of our time-travelling heroes is about to meet a shocking demise..? This opener is hugely entertaining, witty and bamboozling — it demands our close attention, not only to follow the ingenious, mind-warping plot but also to stay alert for small, significant details. Head Whoncho Steven Moffat says he’s “putting the Who? back into the Doctor” this year, but he’s also putting the frighteners on: “Children rank the episodes in order of frightening-ness.” And be assured, this marks a return to proper, scary Doctor Who — with a sinister Apollo astronaut and new foe, the Silence. Echoing the tormented soul in Munch’s The Scream, they lurk on the fringes of our perception, and one gives Amy a nasty turn in a White House lavatory. Parents, be warned: the Doctor’s tiniest addicts will surely be quailing behind any available upholstery and, with any luck, grown-ups will get the heebie-jeebies, too.


Part one of two. Three envelopes coloured the Tardis's distinctive shade of blue summon the Doctor, Amy and Rory to the middle of the Utah desert, where they are reunited with the enigmatic River Song. With the mysterious missives still unexplained, the time traveller agrees to investigate further, and his quest takes him to 1969 - and an encounter with US president Richard Nixon and a sinister astronaut.

Cast & Crew

The Doctor Matt Smith
Amy Pond Karen Gillan
Rory Williams Arthur Darvill
River Song Alex Kingston
Canton Delaware Mark Sheppard
Old Canton Delaware William Morgan Sheppard
President Richard Nixon Stuart Milligan
Carl Chuk Iwuji
Phil Mark Griffin
The Silent Marnix Van Den Broeke
Little girl Sydney Wade
Joy Nancy Baldwin
Captain Simmons Adam Napier
Matilda Henrietta Clemett
Charles Paul Critoph
Prison guard Kieran O'Connor
Busboy Emilio Aquino
Director Toby Haynes
Producer Marcus Wilson
Writer Steven Moffat
see more