Seven Ages of Britain

The Fourth Age 410 - 1066AD

Series 1 - Episode 4 The Fourth Age 410 - 1066AD



Bettany Hughes considers the fourth age, between 410 and 1066AD, a period of change that led to the disintegration of Britannia following the gradual collapse of the Roman Empire and an invasion by Scandinavians and northern Europeans, hungry for power and land. Out of the upheaval and chaos came the gradual development of a wealthy, independent England, which many would recognise today in areas of language, law, religion and economy.

Cast & Crew

Presenter Bettany Hughes
Director Polly Morland
Executive Producer Philip Clarke
Series Producer Paul Sen