Secret State

Series 1 - Episode 1



From the apocalyptic opening scene, this political thriller – very loosely based on Chris Mullin’s novel (and then Bafta-winning drama) A Very British Coup – grabs you by the throat and doesn’t release you from its grip for a second. Think State of Play or Edge of Darkness.

Gabriel Byrne plays Deputy Prime Minister Tom Dawkins, who’s been left with a right mess to clear up after an explosion in an American-owned petrochemical factory in Teesside, which has killed several people and devastated the local community.

Journalist Ellis Kane (Gina McKee) smells a conspiracy, but although Dawkins is prepared to listen to her, his colleagues in the corridors of power are more interested in a looming general election. Adding to his problems, MI5 spooks are listening in to and watching his every move, determined to derail any investigations.

Charles Dance as Chief Whip John Hodder (a Francis Urquhart-style puppet master) is wonderfully reptilian, while Sylvestra le Touzel has hewn her tough and ambitious Foreign Secretary character from granite.


Political drama, starring Gabriel Byrne, based on Chris Mullin's novel A Very British Coup. Deputy Prime Minister Tom Dawkins vows to take on an American petrochemical company after a devastating industrial accident on British soil. Following the suspicious death of the PM in a plane crash, his understated ambitions are tested as two colleagues vie for the top job - but neither appears to have justice for those affected by the disaster at the forefront of their campaign. With Charles Dance, Stephen Dillane, Rupert Graves and Douglas Hodge.

Cast & Crew

Tom Dawkins Gabriel Byrne
John Hodder Charles Dance
Paul J Clark Stephen Dillane
Felix Durrell Rupert Graves
Anthony Fossett Douglas Hodge
Sgt Wrigglesworth Ralph Ineson
Ros Yelland Sylvestra Le Touzel
Gina Hayes Anna Madeley
Ellis Kane Gina McKee
Agnes Evans Ruth Negga
Lee Foulds Jamie Sives
Joss Leyton Al Weaver
Laura Duchenne Lia Williams
Rachel Gough Susan Cookson
Nills Jacobson Russell Kilmister
Graham Gough Tony Pritchard
Charles Flyte Tobias Menzies
Dr Mark Ashcroft Jason Done
Rosie Miller Sophie Ward
Meeting chairperson Paul Elsam
Meeting protester Paul Codman
Downing St journalist Charlie De'Ath
Downing St journalist Becky Hindley
Downing St housekeeper Eithne Browne
Political correspondent Andrew Pollard
Vicar Chris Mullin
Director Ed Fraiman
Producer Johann Knobel
Writer Robert Jones
see more