We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here

Radio 3 Live in Concert

The Sixteen - Christmas Music

The Sixteen - Christmas Music

not currently available
Add this to your watchlist to find out when it is available via broadcast or catch-up.


That magnificent choir The Sixteen, under their founder and conductor Harry Christophers, gets the traditional Christmas concert season off to a typically diverse and eclectic start with a programme called The Truth from Above.

This year’s seasonal offering from the Queen Elizabeth Hall centres on three great Renaissance masters of polyphony, the composers Josquin Des Prez, Mouton and Lassus. But it also looks at how composers old and new have interpreted the classic themes of Christmas, including lullabies and two versions of the much-loved Coventry Carol.

The programme takes its title from Vaughan Williams’s arrangement of This Is the Truth Sent from above.


The Sixteen present a wide-ranging exploration of Christmas themes in music old and new, live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London. With Petroc Trelawny. The Sixteen, conductor Harry Christophers. Trad arr Vaughan Williams: This Is the Truth Sent from Above. Josquin des Prez: Praeter rerum seriem. Trad arr Willcocks: Rocking. Byrd: Lullaby, My Sweet Little Baby. Howells: Sing Lullaby. Mouton: Nesciens Mater. Ravenscroft: Remember, O Thou Man. Anon: Coventry Carol. Oldham: Remember, O Thou Man. 8.15 Interval Music. 8.35 Josquin des Prez: O Virgo prudentissima. Howells: A Spotless Rose. Anon: There Is No Rose. Leighton: Coventry Carol. Trad: Wexford Carol. Lassus: Magnificat Praeter rerum seriem.


Have Your Say What did you think of The Sixteen - Christmas Music?

view all comments (0)