We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here

Radio 3 in Concert

English Chamber Orchestra - Haydn, Sandor Veress

English Chamber Orchestra - Haydn, Sandor Veress

Catch Up


Cellist Nicolas Altstaedt travels on a journey as soloist and conductor to the 18th and 20th centuries via Haydn and Sándor Veress with the English Chamber Orchestra in this concert, live from Kings Place in London. Haydn's bravura first Cello Concerto and Symphony No 49 were written in the 1760s at and for the Eszterházy court, and Hungarian-Swiss Veress represents the 20th century with his testing Solo Sonata and Four Transylvanian Dances, both inspired by the folk music of his homeland. Presented by Martin Handley. English Chamber Orchestra, Nicolas Altstaedt (cello and director). Sándor Veress: Four Transylvanian Dances. Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 1 in C, Hob.VIIb:1. 8.20 Interval. Sándor Veress: Sonata for Solo Cello. Haydn: Symphony No. 49 in F minor, Hob.I:49, 'La Passione'.

Cast & Crew

Presenter Martin Handley
Producer David Papp


Have Your Say What did you think of English Chamber Orchestra - Haydn, Sandor Veress?

view all comments (0)