We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here

The Full Works Concert

Celebrating Mstislav Rostropovich

Celebrating Mstislav Rostropovich

not currently available
Add this to your watchlist to find out when it is available via broadcast or catch-up.


Jane Jones celebrates the life and work of one of the greatest cellists ever to have lived - Mstislav Rostropovich - on the day that would have been his 90th birthday. JS Bach: Cello Suite No.1 in G BWV.1007 - Prelude. Mstislav Rostropovich. Brahms: Double Concerto in A minor Op 102. Yehudi Menuhin (violin), Mstislav Rostropovich (cello), London Symphony Orchestra, conductor Colin Davis. Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor Op 54. Martha Argerich (piano), National Symphony Orchestra, conductor Mstislav Rostropovich. Tchaikovsky: Serenade Melancholique Op 26. Maxim Vengerov (violin), London Symphony Orchestra, conductor Mstislav Rostropovich. Schubert: Sonata for Arpeggione and Piano in A minor, D.821. Mstislav Rostropovich (cello), Benjamin Britten (piano).

Cast & Crew

Presenter Jane Jones


Have Your Say What did you think of Celebrating Mstislav Rostropovich?

view all comments (0)