Radio 3 in Concert

Matthias Pintscher and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


Composer-conductor Matthias Pintscher rejoins the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, of which he is Artist-in-Association, to explore Russian classics - Rachmaninov's dark-hued symphonic poem The Isle of the Dead and Tchaikovsky's romantically melodious Symphony No 5. Plus, the BBC SSO is joined by French virtuoso Cédric Tiberghien to explore the lighter and more classical melodies of Mozart's youthful Piano Concerto No 12. Presented by Kate Molleson from City Halls, Glasgow. Cédric Tiberghien (piano), BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, conductor Matthias Pintscher. Rachmaninov: The Isle of the Dead. Mozart: Piano Concerto No 12 in A, K414. 8.20 Interval. A 1976 edition of Pied Piper looking at music inspired by the stars. As well as introducing music connected with the figure of Neptune, presenter David Munrow interviews astronomer Patrick Moore. 8.40 Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 5 in E minor.

Cast & Crew

Presenter Kate Molleson
Producer Douglas Templeton