We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here

Early Music Late

Concerto Köln

Concerto Köln

not currently available
Add this to your watchlist to find out when it is available via broadcast or catch-up.


Elin Manahan Thomas introduces a concert given by Concerto Köln of Handel's 'The King Shall Rejoice' plus extracts from his fiery oratorio 'Hercules'. Handel: The King Shall Rejoice. Concerto Köln, conductor Olof Boman. Handel: 'Hercules' (extracts). Overture. Recitative: O Hercules why art thou absent from me? Aria: The world when day's career is run. Act II: Sinfonia. Recitative: Welcome the rising day! Aria: Begone my fears fly hence away. Chorus: Crown with festal pomp the day. Act III: Sinfonia. Aria: Cease, ruler of the day to rise. Chorus: Jealousy! Infernal pest! Scene? Where shall I fly?. Ann Hallenberg (mezzo-soprano), Annika Hudak (contralto), Niklas Engquist (tenor), Swedish Radio Chorus. Concerto Köln, conductor Olof Boman.

Cast & Crew

Presenter Elin Manahan Thomas
Producer Olwen Fisher


Have Your Say What did you think of Concerto Köln?

view all comments (0)