Good Omens: the antichrist arrives in first preview clips

Listen to three new scenes from the upcoming Radio 4 adaptation of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's novel

65033

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s 1990 novel Good Omens don’t have long to wait until they hear the first episode of its Radio 4 adaptation on Monday – but now RadioTimes.com can offer a sneaky look under the wrapping paper.

Advertisement

In these previously unheard clips we meet demon Crowley and angel Aziraphale (Peter Serafinowicz and Mark Heap, respectively) who attempt to save the world from the coming of the antichrist – with a little help from a witchfinder, a gang of unruly children and some cryptic flashcards…

In the first scene, we hear Serafinowicz’s suave Crowley have the antichrist foisted upon him – and is it us, or has his time on earth made him a little more refined than his demon brethren (Phil Davis and Utopia’s Neil Maskell)?


Next, we hear Crowley pass on the good news to his fastidious friend Aziraphale who isn’t as pleased as the rest of his heavenly friends about the prospect of Armageddon.


Not to worry, though – over tea at the Ritz the two begin to hatch a plan to save the world, and their own place in it.

The Good Omens cast also includes Colin Morgan, Charlotte Ritchie, Louise Brealey and Paterson Joseph, and is directed by Dirk Maggs (who brought Gaiman’s book Neverwhere to the radio last year, starring Benedict Cumberbatch and James McAvoy).

You can find out more about Good Omens here, or listen to some of the cast previewing their characters here, with photos below.

Good Omens will begin on Radio 4 on the 22nd December at 11.00pm

Advertisement

898