RIP Richard Briers - stars pay tribute on Twitter

British celebrities and critics share their memories of the Good Life actor, and their sadness at the news of his death

Comments
RIP Richard Briers - stars pay tribute on Twitter
Written By
Radio Times staff

The death of Good Life star Richard Briers was met with an outpouring of emotion on Twitter today as friends, colleagues and fans paid tribute to the much-loved actor.

From actors and directors to sportsmen and journalists, it seems as though Briers brightened up the lives of everyone who met him or saw his work.

Here’s what some of Britain’s biggest names have been saying following the sad news of Briers's death:


Stephen Fry @stephenfry (actor, comedian): "Oh no, I’ve just heard the news that Richard Briers has died. How sad. He was the most adorable and funny man imaginable."


Lord Sugar @Lord_Sugar (Apprentice star and businessman): "Sad news about Richard Briers, will be missed. Funny man RIP"


Edgar Wright @edgarwright (Shaun of the Dead director): "Sad that Richard Briers has passed away. Loved him in The Good Life, Ever Decreasing Circles. If You See God Tell Him. Great comic actor."


John Simm ‏@john_simm (actor): "Oh no... Just heard the very very sad news about Richard Briers. Condolences to his family. a terrific actor and an absolute Gentleman. RIP"


John Sweeney@johnsweeneyroar (BBC Panorama journalist): "Sad: Richard Briers's death. My gran laid on their wedding breakfast in Liverpool. Years later he was delighted: 'Mrs Owen!' #TheGoodLife"


Katy Manning@ManningOfficial (Doctor Who's Jo Grant): "Dear Richard Briers ! Gone on a wonderful adventure , leaving one hell of a footprint and work legacy to be enjoyed forever xxx"


Russell Tovey@russelltovey (actor): "RIP Richard Briers... So sad... What a legend x"


Robert Llewellyn@bobbyllew (Red Dwarf's Kryten): Lovely Richard Briers, RIP. Never met him, saw him once in a corridor at the BBC, obviously a much loved chap.


Peter Serafinowicz@serafinowicz (actor and comedian): Very sad to hear about Richard Briers. He was a lovely man and a brilliant actor.


Dr Christian Jessen@DoctorChristian (TV medic): "Sorry to hear about Richard Briers. A Garrick member through and through, and always so entertaining whenever I met him there."


Stan Collymore@StanCollymore (footballer): "Sad news about Richard Briers,one of the voices and actors that defined a generation."


David Schneider@davidschneider (actor): "I just want to say: Richard Briers - that's truly sad. A genius actor and a warm, lovely, and wonderfully entertaining man. RIP."


Adil Ray@adilray (Citizen Khan creator): "Was working on a new comedy pitch this week with a mild reference to Richard Briers. Will change that now I think.The Good Life is timeless!"


Emma Kennedy@EmmaK67 (actress): "Oh very sad to hear about lovely Richard Briers. I worked with him once. He was a proper gent. RIP"


Tracey Thorn@tracey_thorn (musician and author): "Always sad to drop in to Twitter and find that someone good has died. Richard Briers, he was good. Very sad."


Alison Graham@TVAlisonGraham (Radio Times TV editor): "Oh Richard Briers, I felt I grew up with him, he WAS telly to me when I was a kid. A peerless comic actor. Unforgettable."


David Hepworth@davidhepworth (journalist): "Richard Briers - there's a man who made us happy. What more could you want?"


Add new comment

Ads by Google