Thank You for Smoking

Thank You for Smoking

Jason Reitman (2005)

15 Certificate


Our Score
The feature debut of writer/director Jason Reitman (son of Ghost Busters' Ivan) is a satire on the big businesses of smoking and spin doctoring that gleefully blasts away at unscrupulous lobbyists, hand-wringing liberals and most points in between. Aaron Eckhart plays our antihero Nick Naylor, a frighteningly convincing spokesman for Big Tobacco, who dubs himself a Merchant of Death. He even has a little MoDs club, comprising himself and representatives of the alcohol trade (Maria Bello) and firearms industry (David Koechner). Their jobs are not to protect humanity, but to ensure humanity's right to screw itself up. A smooth-talking swipe at amoral profiteering and knee-jerk nannyism, this comedy hits most of its targets with such artful elegance that it almost diffuses the impact. But there is great pleasure to be taken in its daring wit, excellent performances (Cameron Bright deserves special mention as Naylor's son, who idolises and, perhaps more devastatingly, understands his father) and refusal to play the Hollywood game.


An amoral lobbyist works to promote the tobacco industry while striving to provide a positive role-model for his 12-year-old son. Visiting Hollywood to persuade a producer to include smoking in a new film, he is forced to contend with a senator leading an anti-cigarette campaign, a vigilante group and his own desire for a reporter. Satirical comedy, starring Aaron Eckhart, William H Macy, Maria Bello, Rob Lowe and Katie Holmes.

Cast & Crew

Nick Naylor Aaron Eckhart
Polly Bailey Maria Bello
Joey Naylor Cameron Bright
Jack Adam Brody
Lorne Lutch Sam Elliott
Heather Holloway Katie Holmes
Bobby Jay Bliss David Koechner
Jeff Megall Rob Lowe
Senator Ortolan Finistirre William H Macy
BR J K Simmons
The Captain Robert Duvall
Jill Naylor Kim Dickens
Director Jason Reitman
see more

Other Information

Language: EnglishColourTheatrical distributor: 20th Century FoxGuidance: Swearing.Available on: DVDReleased on: 16 Jun 2006