Sports Personality Of The Year

About this programme

John Inverdale presents live coverage from this year's ceremony at the ExCeL in London, where the successor to Mark Cavendish will be crowned from a shortlist of 12. Those to have been selected by a panel of former athletes, journalists and members of the BBC are Andy Murray, Ben Ainslie, Bradley Wiggins, Sir Chris Hoy, David Weir, Ellie Simmonds, Jessica Ennis, Katherine Grainger, Mo Farah, Nicola Adams, Rory McIlroy and Sarah Storey. In addition to the main prize, awards will be handed out in categories such as Team of the Year and Coach of the Year, while the Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to a sporting legend, and the Helen Rollason Award will be bestowed upon someone who epitomises courage and has the ability to inspire others.