Live Snooker: UK Championship

Day One

About this programme

Hazel Irvine is joined by Steve Davis and John Parrott to introduce coverage of the opening day's play at the Telford International Centre, where Shaun Murphy, Stephen Maguire, Mark Williams and Mark King contest matches over the best-of-17 frames against Gerard Greene, Michael Holt, Graeme Dott and Anthony Hamilton respectively. Murphy is reigning champion, having defeated Marco Fu in last year's final, while Maguire won the title in 2004 and was runner-up to Ronnie O'Sullivan in 2007. The commentary team features Dennis Taylor, Willie Thorne, John Virgo, Ken Doherty, Terry Griffiths and Neal Foulds. Coverage continues on BBC2 at 4.30pm.